Sunrise

This is a picture of sunrise from the balcony of the apartments in Cronulla we’re temporarily calling home. So far, it’s my favorite part of our stay here – and something I never appreciated before, given that 6 am was once an ungodly hour, a time no civilized person should have to experience. Student life is luxurious, no? But I like my new discovery, and my newly set schedule, free of night shifts and weekend calls and all that my last job entailed.

Moving is still stressful, and our lack of any luck in the apartment hunt has prolonged this stress and made us wonder if we could possibly have a decent job and credit history and still end up homeless. This is probably an exaggeration, and I suspect it’ll only be a matter of time and application, but it has made it difficult to find out much about our new home beyond the sheer volume of legalese involved in renting anything in this country. I have NEVER read so much paperwork in my life, and I find it hilarious that I need more references to apply for an apartment lease than I needed to get a job here, or obtain a visa. You can get in, but you will struggle to establish yourself as a real person with a house and a car and 100 points of identification.

Some of the good things: I really like the Inner West of Sydney, with its eclectic neighborhoods and sheer diversity. This doesn’t exist in the suburb we’re currently staying in – Cronulla is more of a tiny beach town that got engulfed by suburban sprawl. I love that good, cheap Indian food is everywhere, that the beach is every bit as good as you would imagine from all the touristy advertisements for Australia, and that work colleagues and friendly and laid back and not afraid of poking fun at each other. And I’m excited about the possibility of making a home here. I only wish it would happen a bit faster.  I guess this is a good way to learn to be patient.

2 Comments

Filed under Australia, stories

2 responses to “Sunrise

  1. Arielle

    Aw, moving stinks! But you’ll get it all straightened out soon enough and this will be a distant memory, I’m pretty sure (easier to see that from the outside). And then you’ll get to enjoy the new surroundings and yummy Indian food (mm…).

    I wonder if it’s always been hard to rent there or if this is new. Until pretty recently, I don’t think it took a lot to buy an overly expensive house you couldn’t afford in this country. Maybe the housing situation is an overreaction to that?

    Beautiful sunrise…

  2. i think it takes a lot of paperwork and bureaucracy to move to any new country. good luck navigating it. the sunrises must help make it worth it! don’t think i will ever be a sunrise/morning person myself.

Leave a Reply

