Seedlings!

Seedlings

The peppers are still a bit chilly, despite our occasional application of heat, and the chard has a very low germination rate, but oh, look at all the seedlings! If they all survive transplanting, we’ll have way too many tomato plants for our 4’x10′ backyard plot, and enough string beans, zucchini, and cucumbers to supply the neighborhood. But hey, I didn’t expect them to come up in the first place, and am therefore jumping up and down like a crazy person every time I see one come up for air.

Anyway, just thought I’d share my excitement, and let you know that I’ve got plans for this weekend’s posts in the works. I’ll be reviving my bread baking habit, which I somehow lost track of a couple of weeks ago. I hope to give you a useful comparison of different flour types for your own baking reference. Oh, and one of the posts will involve cocoa nibs, because I just got some in the mail, and can’t wait to put them to use.

7 Comments

Filed under gardening, teaser

7 responses to “Seedlings!

  1. Those are cute! Baby plants!

  2. this is reminding me that i really need to start my lettuce seeds. luckily i’m going to see my green-thumb mother tomorrow so she can give me advice bc i have no idea what i’m doing.

  3. ooh! very exciting… I’d better start our tomato plant soon

  4. spring! it’s wonderful… congratulations on your babies!

  5. liz

    thanks! i take it as proof that anyone can grow seedlings … we’ll see if the black thumb kicks in later. 🙂

    Julia and Rachael — good luck starting your own! Rachael, if you want any (provided they survive post transplant) let me know… If all 6 zucchini plants survive, I have a feeling we’ll be distributing squash throughout the neighborhood or setting up our own farm stand!

  6. Pingback: When what’s for dinner is too much to ask « threeForks

  7. Pingback: Monster seedlings « threeForks

Leave a Reply

