Monster seedlings

Remember these?

All grown up

Yes, believe it or not, all those cute little seedlings have taken over the front room in our house. It’s a perfect greenhouse, with full sun all day, at least one diligent person (not me) who remembers to give them water on occasion, and a nice breeze when we decide the air’s too perfect to keep outside. But I kind of want my desk back, so guess what our weekend plans are?  I think they’ll go nicely with the lettuce, shallots, strawberries, chard, and onions we already have out back. All are doing just fine, despite some seriously rocky soil, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they’ll survive our upcoming trip to California (two weeks! I’m so excited!). It’ll be a welcome break from days that seem to be filled with menial, must-do-now tasks. Like labeling the gamma cave.

Mess

Every single wire.  Anyone want to help?

6 Comments

Filed under gardening, stories

6 responses to “Monster seedlings

  1. pshazz

    reminds me of the days i was doing audio. labelling, trying to clean up clusterfks, &c. boy do i NOT miss those days.

    if you move them outside, i bet the rain will take care of them. otherwise, maybe you can get a kindly neighbor? pretty awesome though, how much they’ve grown!

  2. Wow thats a lot of seedlings! You will definitly not have a lack of veggies in the summer!

  3. Nice seedlings! Ours are kind of pitiful – after weeks of growing indoors/outdoors, they still look like your original seedlings post. I think our house is too cold for them : / And Zane stomped on one so we’re down to only one bean plant!

  4. liz

    Heh… glad to know I’m not the only one in the world with awesome wiring experience. Thanks, everyone — I’m definitely hopeful we’ll actually have plenty to eat this summer!

    Rachael — That sucks! Well, if you want another bean plant or two, let us know … Ours are already sprouting beans (which might not be a good thing?), and we definitely don’t need 6 of them, especially since it’ll just be James here as of mid-July. Have you tried putting a heating pad under the seedling container? That seemed to help ours … We turned it on every so often until they grew out of their little seed pods, and the peppers definitely wouldn’t have come up otherwise …

  5. The only things I’m growing so far are tomatoes and, well, I threw a pumpkin on the compost and some of the seeds have erupted into bright orange-yellow blossoms. I can’t grow wires, though. Good luck with that.

  6. liz

    heh… I think we have some squash growing from our compost as well. (I think so, anyway — they look pretty convincing). Hope the tomatoes are going well this year…

Leave a Reply

