Strawberry Rhubarb Compote

Beautiful

I thought I’d share this one while strawberries and rhubarb are still in season. We had a pile of each sitting in our house, wilting in the humidity, and I decided to take matters into my own hands and do something about it before they both went to waste. A good thing, too, given that strawberries were $6 a quart last week, and they weren’t even that tasty.

Compote

I can’t blame them, really — with all this rain, we haven’t managed to actually harvest any of ours before they’ve started rotting. But onto more pleasant things…

Strawberry rhubarb compote

This isn’t really a recipe, but it’s a delicious way to dress up slightly mushy fruit.  All you need is:

  • a cheap bottle of red wine (you don’t need all of it — half a bottle will do)
  • some sugar or agave nectar
  • a bit of vanilla or other spice of choice (optional)
  • fruit. In this case, I used strawberry and rhubarb. ~1/2 quart strawberries, and 3 stalks of rhubarb cut into 3/4″ pieces.
  • I really wish I had added in a bit of orange zest, but that’s sort of besides the point.

Here’s what you do: cut your fruit up, discarding anything inedible. Pour in the wine to cover, add a bit of the spice or vanilla, some sugar (not much to start) and bring to a simmer. After the fruit has softened a bit, taste and adjust the sweetness until you’re happy with it. Continue cooking until you have a mushy, delicious, jam-like creation. 30 minutes will probably do it. Store in a jar in the fridge, and use to top things like sourdough waffles (recipe coming soon) and vanilla ice cream. Simple enough?

5 Comments

Filed under dessert, local, rhubarb, strawberry, vegan, vegetarian, wine

5 responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Compote

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.

    I am attempting to find things to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  2. I think this is among the most vital information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The
    web site style is great, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

  3. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it
    out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and superb design.

  4. There’s certainly a great deal to learn about this topic. I like all the points you have made.

  5. I drop a leave a response when I appreciate a article on a blog or
    I have something to valuable to contribute to
    the conversation. Usually it is caused by the fire displayed in the post I looked at.
    And on this article Strawberry Rhubarb Compote | threeForks.
    I was actually moved enough to post a thought 😉 I
    do have some questions for you if it’s okay. Is it simply me or does it look like like a few of these remarks come across as if they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional places, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list every one of your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

