When you need chocolate

I’m not one to actually try recipes from other blogs most of the time.  I tend to quit reading the ingredient list halfway through, or start improvising madly upon discovering that I only have two out of the five ingredients I need for some particular concoction.  But this time, I had all the ingredients, I really didn’t improvise*, and I wasn’t disappointed.

So what are you waiting for?  Try this recipe.  Now.  You will thank me** later.

*I substituted vanilla sugar for the vanilla extract and sugar.  Vanilla sugar = sugar that has been sitting in a bowl with a vanilla bean or two for a week or longer, and if you’ve never made it, I suggest you go buy a vanilla bean and try it.  The vanilla bean can be reused for multiple batches of sugar, and the scent makes me deliriously happy every time I start baking something with it.  If you must, think of it as cheap therapy for the winter months.

** … err, Smitten Kitchen, actually.

3 Comments

Filed under baking, chocolate, dessert

3 responses to “When you need chocolate

  1. i keep bars of green & black in my fridge to satisfy my chocolate cravings but now i really want these brownies!

  2. liz

    having chocolate on hand is dangerous, but then again, so are these brownies!

  3. Arielle

    Made these today. Delicious! And dangerous.

Leave a Reply

