A list to pass the time

I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about the next step I want to take these days.  For the first time in my life, I don’t have a degree (mine or James’s) ahead of me, pulling me along through sheer stubbornness and the need to finish what I started regardless of the foolishness of my task.  I just have a little under three years and the knowledge that I’m not where I want to be just yet.

I know I want to write more, and calculate errors far less. Beyond that? I suppose I’ll see.

For now, I figured I’d start a list of things I want to do while I’m still able. It may not have the urgency of a degree (or come with quite the same feeling of escape), but perhaps it’ll be a worthy substitute.

In case you’re interested, here’s a start:

  • Climb the toughest routes in the gym, but make it look easy.
  • Through hike at least part of the Pacific Crest Trail.
  • See more of France.
  • Learn French (working on this one).
  • Brush up on my Spanish.
  • See Spain someday.
  • Backpack through Europe.
  • Check out Kyoto in the rainy season. Apparently, it just “works” then.
  • Hike in New Zealand.
  • Learn to sew.
  • Volunteer at a natural history museum.
  • Learn more about ecology and evolutionary biology.
  • Write every day.
  • Write a book, even if I’m the only one who bothers to read it.
  • Go back to the Newport Folk Festival (both days).
  • Climb through the Franconia Notch in fall.
  • Do a tasting menu at Alinea. (P, are you with me on this one?)
  • Visit Vancouver again (because I don’t remember).
  • Take a photography class.
  • Go abseiling (soon!)
  • Check out Ayers Rock.
  • Start my own business so we can live in a tiny little town and have a giant garden full of heirloom veggies.
  • Get a cat (or a dog — I’m not picky).
  • Play at molecular gastronomy.
  • Host Thanksgiving in Australia (because we can).
  • Have Christmas dinner in July.
  • Seek out the best pho in Sydney. (Miss Saigon in Hurstville holds the title for now, but I’ve only just begun…)
  • Figure out how to save the world (or at least contribute somehow)…
2 Comments

Filed under lists, recovering academic

2 responses to “A list to pass the time

  1. pshaz

    PCT! YES! With a long stop-over here, so I can teach you the basics of sewing (not that I’m that good), and you can practice on my machine!
    And then we can head to Vancouver together.
    And then you can move to Bellingham, if you insist on living in a small town.
    (like how I’ve planned out your life for you? 🙂

    Also, next time you go through LA, remind me to put you in touch with my mycologist friend who works at NHM, if you want an idea of what it’s like to work at an nhm.

    And HELL YES, you know I am down for Alinea!

  2. liz

    That all sounds pretty great to me!

Leave a Reply

